v-nessa.net is de-Googled

Posted by Nessa | Posted in , | Posted on 21-07-2008

11

Um….what?

I thought something was up when for the last month my traffic rate went from 300,000 in May to only 24,000 in June, even moreso when I found out my pagerank dropped from a 6 to a 4. I was de-Googled! Apparently a month or so ago a spam comment slipped past Akismet and got posted to my blog, and that meant that my site no longer meets the “quality” guidelines for Google. I found the post and removed it, but upon filling out their reconsideration form it appears that it takes 4-6 weeks to be reviewed and added back. Man, that sucks….

Anywho, I’d hate to do this mainly because I’m lazy, but I’ve set Wordpress to send new comments to moderation again so I have to manually approve them. What I’m confused about is that if my site doesn’t meet quality guidelines for Google, where does this guy fit in?

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • StumbleUpon
  • Sphinn
  • Mixx
  • blogmarks
  • Furl
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot

Comments (11)

Happened to me. And even with the moderation you might not catch the injection as it is a MySQL injection of sorts into your comments. You will only be able to find it if you view the source of your page and/or sometimes look at your comments via an RSS reader which will show the hacked stuff.

Well, they email you and tell you exactly why your site is removed and all I had to do was search the database and remove the entry….and wait 4-6 weeks to get my site listed again.

Almost two years ago I had a site that was “injected” with spam text (keyword spamming) that was the same color as the site. You couldn’t see it unless you went into the backend or highlighted the text. But in my case, the Big G. found it. Needless to say, I was penalized for the infraction, even though I didn’t do the deed. I had to go through the same process (reconsideration) as you did to get re-listed. It was a frustrating. Btw, the site has recovered since those those dark times.

Nessa, what exactly are the links they’re considering to be “quality” judgements or whatever? I get so many track backs from websites I get tired of moderating them.. I guess I should pay closer attention but its a pain in the butt.

Suggestions?

It was a spam comment that got past akismet during the one week that i disabled comment moderation — it didn’t have any links but rather just a few words like ‘cialis’ and such. Funny thing it, i heard that google doesn’t actively look for those things, and that you have to submit url’s to their quality control team for review. That means someone apparently saw my one spam comment and reported my site as not meeting quality standards.

my suggestion for you would be to keep your comments moderated — no posting until you’ve read and approved them. I hate to be nazi over my blog, but that’s what it’s coming down to.

That really sucks. My friend’s site was hit a while back by some really bad spam sites (casinos & some herbal tea). Luckily akismet worked that time around.

Comment moderation is the way to go. There’s also ways to setup google alerts to target only your domain and keyword instances of “viagra” “casino” etc. This way when one does pass by or is somehow hacked you can tell right away.

John,
Custom Programming

Spam is just absolutely ridiculous. Are these ads even worth money anymore? I can’t believe people still do it.

Worst part is when hackers are being paid to abuse holes in Cpanel or any CMS to post them. I thought hacking was supposed to be encourage knowledge..

Anyways, I hope it takes less than 4 weeks for you. I found you through google, and I’ll find you again 8)

PS: Lol about that joke re: Icanhazcheeseburger.

Also came across this. Just installed the plugin he mentions as well http://www.prelovac.com/vladimir/you-dont-mess-with-other-peoples-websites

You have probably been hit because you are on Sponsored Reviews. Any site on Sponsoredreviews will get Google whacked very quickly.

[...] was hacked with some nasty Javascript inserts that ended up getting me tagged by Google for the second time now.  If that wasn’t bad enough, my Twitter account was suspended for “strange [...]

Are you saying that you have 300,000 visitors? And no Google Adwords or anything? I’m like.. thinking, “Doesn’t this mean her quality website could be making money?”

I mean, as far as I can understand, this site is Yours, and InMotion gets an advertisement in the footer in exchange for hosting you.

I hope you got relisted.

Post a comment